Phase 1 (2014 -2018)

The E3SM project is a DOE BER Science Focus Area (SFA) project and as such is funded for a 3-year period after a successful proposal. The project calls each funding period an E3SM Phase. Phase 1 of the project marked the beginning of the project, spanned from the year 2014 to 2018, and focused (see  Long Term Roadmap) on developing E3SM coupled model version 1.0 (E3SM v1.0) and using it to perform the CMIP6 DECK experiments and the E3SM v1 simulation campaign.

Project Structure

At inception, the ACME (former E3SM) project spans eight DOE National Laboratories (Argonne, Brookhaven, Los Alamos, Lawrence Berkeley, Lawrence Livermore, Oak Ridge, Pacific Northwest, and Sandia), four academic institutions (University of Maryland, University of California – Irvine, Scripps Institute of Oceanography, New York Polytechnical Institute), the National Center for Atmospheric Research, and the private company Kitware. ACME was led by a council of 12 senior scientists who span the project disciplines and institutions and have final authority on all major project decisions, with a higher level of leadership from the Executive Council.


Leadership Team

 See Leadership Team in Phase 1  for details of the organizational structure.

Send this to a friend